Who We Are:

Adhering to the call of the Gospel and inspired by the spirit of our founder Venerable Michael Joseph McGivney, we, members of the Knights of Columbus, Councils 3376, 15533, A-801, strive to uphold the Gospel to assist needy children in developing countries.

We endeavor to help children by offering them religious and secular education, in pursuit of knowledge, realize their God-given potential., and in the spirit of charity, share the Gospel values with others.

Our Mission:

IMC was started with an idea, that all children should have access to a quality education.

This Idea was translated into action after our founder, the Rev. John Amankwah, returned home from a trip to his native homeland of Ghana. There he found that the country's economic development had yet to translate into equal opportunities for both the country's expanding urban populations and those who continued to live in its traditional rural communities.

Father John reached out to several local councils of the Knights of Columbus, and IMC was born.

A Message from Our President:

In seeking to help children by offering them religious and secular education to acquire knowledge, realize their God-given potentials, and in the spirit of charity, share the Gospel values with others, the International Mission for Children (IMC) is fulfilling the charisma of the founder of Knight of Columbus, Venerable Michael Joseph McGivney.

We, members of IMC are planning a future for children in poor countries to attain education so that some of them can become future leaders and help develop the human capacities in their countries. We have come far by pulling our ingenuity together to achieve our dream. We are creating an organizational road map for years to come. I believe in you and I also think that together with the help of God, we will achieve our goal.


Our Leadership Team:

  • Rev. John M. Amankwah, Ph.D., President
  • Mr. Paul Brackmann, Vice President
  • Mr. Jerry Auer, Executive Director
  • Larry Kessler, Chair, Building Committee
  • Sr. Carol Jean Willie, Ph.D., Member
  • Mr. William Wergowski, Treasurer